School Staff

Senior Management

Katherine Haynes, Head

Katherine Haynes, BA (Warwick) MEd (Birmingham) NPQH, Head

Katherine read Maths at Warwick, followed by MEd and then taught in the Midlands, becoming head of Maths at Edgbaston High School, followed by Warwick School, where she first started out as a school inspector and took the professional training scheme for headship. Her appointment at John Lyon made her the first woman ever to head an HMC boys’ day school. Katherine continues to work as a school Reporting Inspector, and, in her limited free time, enjoys gardening and travelling.

Andy Sims

Andy Sims, MA, MEng (Cantab), Deputy Head

Andy read Engineering at Churchill College, Cambridge, where he also completed his PGCE. Before teaching, Andy worked in the design and applied research of renewable energy for AECOM, London. He started his teaching career at Whitgift School in 2009 where he was also Assistant Head of Sixth Form and led the Senior STEM programme. In 2012, he was appointed Head of Physics at Blundell’s School where he coordinated Oxbridge Science Preparation. An avid sportsman, Andy was Head of Cross Country in both schools, coached various teams and organised outdoor pursuit events and trips. He joined John Lyon in 2015. As Deputy Head, Andy has joint responsibility for the day-to-day running of the School, specialising in academic and ICT strategy. He oversees the School Calendar, staffing, Sport and Art.

Jonathan Pepperman

Jonathan Pepperman, MA (Cantab), Deputy Head

Jonathan always knew he wanted to teach. After securing his degree in History from Selwyn College, Cambridge he started his career at Ryde School teaching History and Politics before moving on to be Head of History and Politics and then Head of Upper College at Cheltenham College, where he worked with Housemasters on pastoral matters and oversaw the Oxbridge provision. Jonathan is a believer in an all-round education: on top of his academic commitments, he has coached cricket, hockey and football, been a member of the CCF and sung in school choirs. In 2013 Jonathan joined John Lyon as Head of Sixth Form becoming Deputy Head in 2015. Alongside his joint responsibility for running the School, Jonathan’s primary focus is on the School’s pastoral provision, with oversight of the Sixth Form, Higher Education and Careers, Admissions, Music and Drama.

Mr Tim Lewis

Tim Lewis, MA, MEng (Cantab), Assistant Head (Academic)

Tim read Engineering at Trinity Hall, Cambridge, and his first teaching role was at Reading Blue Coat School. He joined John Lyon as Head of Mathematics in 2014 before becoming Director of Studies in 2017 and then Assistant Head in 2021. Tim has led expeditions to Ecuador, Mongolia and Morocco as well as coordinating the School’s annual ski trip.

Jonathan Rowe

Jonathan Rowe, MA (UEA), Assistant Head (Pastoral)

Jonathan read History at Reading University before completing a Master’s degree in History at the University of East Anglia. He has been teaching for over 15 years across a range of educational settings, enjoying a number of middle management and senior leadership roles. Jonathan has been a Principal Examiner for A-Level History and is a Fellow of the Chartered institute of Educational Assessors. He is also a Governor, responsible for curriculum and safeguarding, at Roxeth Primary School in Harrow. Jonathan joined John Lyon in September 2018 as Head of Sixth Form, becoming Assistant Head Pastoral in January 2021. Jonathan has responsibility for the School’s pastoral provision, with oversight of the Sixth Form, public benefit and community links, and the School’s charity work.

Darren Boylan

Darren Boylan, BEd (Queen’s, Belfast), Senior teacher (Admissions) and Designated Safeguarding Lead

After finishing his BEd in Business Education at Queen’s University Belfast, Darren began his teaching career in the UK at St George’s School, Harpenden as a teacher of Business, before moving to Duff Miller sixth form college as Head of Business Education. He joined John Lyon as Head of Business in 2013. Darren’s roles here have included Head of Year and Head of Sixth Form. He is most proud of the excellent community at John Lyon throughout the School. He sees John Lyon as the perfect environment to give students an excellent all round education – not only achieving excellent academic results but developing boys into young men who make their parents proud. Darren believes John Lyon to be a happy and busy place that allows each individual to flourish in a safe environment.

Jonathan Peel

Jonathan Peel, BA (King’s College, London), Senior Teacher (Staff)

Jonathan graduated from King’s College London with a degree in Classics. This was followed by a Postgraduate Diploma in Opera Studies from the RSAMD in Glasgow. His career as an opera singer saw him working as a soloist throughout Europe and in the USA, notably in Cologne, Naples and Seattle, as well as at the Royal Opera House in London. He qualified as a teacher of English in 2005 and has worked at John Lyon since 2014, previously as Head of English. He is an edu-blogger and his blog of English teaching resources has received well over a million views and is regularly listed among the most influential blogs of its kind.